Nature’s Glad Commotion

Like my parents and my grandparents and perhaps all whose roots are tied to the land, I have always been an early riser and I love to greet the day before the dawn.  Whenever possible, I start my day with a cup of coffee on the front porch. 

I often say I go to enjoy the silence and the solitude, but in reality, I am greeted by neither silence nor solitude.  As the sun paints the horizon gold just before the dawn, the heavens ring with praise to the master artist, and as a gentle breeze rustles through the trees, they too, sing praise to the creator.  The fragrant scent of mint and flowers mingles with the smell of damp earth and a pleasing aroma is offered up to God on the dawn of a glorious summer day.

Birds flutter on the ground and in the trees as the sun breaks over the horizon and all the created begin to praise.  From the barnyard a rooster crows and a young kid bleats as the goats wander out to graze on morning grass.

There in the light of the dawn, I am surrounded by nature’s glad commotion – a chorus of glorious praise. There the arms of God wrap me close and there I join in with all creation to declare the glory of God. We are blessed beyond measure, so how can our lips utter anything but praise if we are able to utter anything at all?

The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork.  Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge.  There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard. Psalm 19: 1-3

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

