Interruptions and Changed Plans

“I think I find the most help in trying to look on all the interruptions and hindrances to work one has planned out for oneself, as discipline; trials sent by God to help one against getting selfish over one’s work.  Then one can feel perhaps one’s true work – one’s work for God – consists in doing some trifling, haphazard thing that has been thrown into one’s day.  It is not a waste of time, as one is tempted to think, it is the most important part of the work of the day; the part one can best offer to God.”  ~Annie Keary, 1825 -1879

Interruptions and changed plans have always been one of my greatest annoyances.  I like for life to be planned; I like for things to go according to schedule; and I like to be on time –if not early.  I think I must have been born with a watch on one hand and a calendar in another. 

But life does not always go according to plan.  Many years ago my life took an abrupt turn when my oldest son suffered severe brain damage. What should have been a 10 day hospital stay lasted over four months. It was during that time that I began my long journey to learn to accept God as sovereign Lord over my life and humbly accept His plan over my own.  I began to see those interruptions and impediments to my well laid life plans -as well as smaller encumbrances in my days- as simply God’s way of setting my feet on a different path.  Surrender to God’s plan and his schedule transformed my heart.   My heart was softened while my patience was strengthened.

Do I always graciously surrender my plans to interruptions and change?  I would like to say that surrender is now a habit, but alas, it is not.  I must face the battle of self will and self surrender every day as my sin nature continually strives for control, and interruptions and changed plans still annoy me, but I have come to see that my annoyances stem from my need to control.  By accepting alterations in my plans as part of God’s greater plan, I surrender control, and there is great joy in humble surrender.

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interruptions and Changed Plans

  1. Pingback: Everyday Trials and Interruptions | Pausing To Praise

  2. Pingback: Pausing To Praise – Everyday Trials and Interruptions

Leave a Reply

