In His Presence

When I travel, I dearly miss my morning and evening walks through my gardens and the grassy fields of home.  I miss our dogs, our home, and the time I have set aside to just walk and talk to my Savior and friend, but I am beginning to see that the things I hold most dear travel with me.

The chaotic rumble of voices, the traffic of the city, and man’s faulty attempt to create with asphalt, cement and timber, all seem to fill my spirit with an uneasy restlessness, but in the midst of the noise God is there too.  He is clearly evident in the voices of children and in the tender faces of young mothers.  He is there in the traffic and in the chaotic rumble of men; wherever I go, I know that He is there. 

So as I traveled hundreds of miles from home this past week to work at the THSC State Convention, I found abundant evidence of God there – in the willingness of dozens of hard working volunteers, in the lives of those who have given so much so others can know the joy of educating their children at home, in the families who have dedicated their lives to Him, in the gifted speakers who pour out their lives to uplift and encourage others, everywhere I look God is there and He is blessing me in it all.

And when the chaos is quieter and our family is afforded the opportunity to get away for a day to enjoy the beauty of the beach because of the generosity of friends, I feel blessed beyond measure. 

While I stand on the shore in the fading light of day, the wet sand cools my bare feet and gentle waves lap against my bare legs and splash the hem of my skirt.  I look out over the ocean and I feel the same sense of awe at the glorious beauty of God’s creation as I do when I gaze across green fields and endless prairie. 

I know God is here at this moment; standing in the waves I feel His presence. I see His glory. I hear His voice echoed in the voice of a dear friend, and I see His blessings manifested in the lives of my children. I am still and in the stillness I know that He is God and He is here in this moment.

Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence?  If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.  If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. ~ Psalm 139: 7-10.

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

