Irresistible Beauty

The sunlight has almost faded from the sky as I find myself free to enjoy the final moments of the day on one of the last true days of summer.  I sit for a long time and let the last rays of the sun warm my face.  Summer is almost gone; summer flowers are beginning to fade; the garden is mature and giving off the last of summer’s bounty, and fall will soon be upon us. As the fading sun gives way to twilight the first stars begin to glimmer, and the moon, whose brilliance has been hidden by the sun, begins to glow, and still I am compelled to linger here, indescribably drawn to the beauty of the moment.

In their book, Captivating, by John and Stasi Eldredge, they write, “Beauty is transcendent.  It is our most immediate experience of the eternal.  Think of what it’s like to behold a gorgeous sunset or the ocean at dawn.  Remember the ending of a great story – we yearn to linger, to experience it all our days.  Sometimes the beauty is so deep it pierces us with longing.  Beauty reminds us of an Eden we’ve never known, but somehow know our hearts were created for.”

Although the wording may be different, the same sentiments have been expressed by many great authors: C.S. Lewis, Max Lucado, A.W. Tozer, and many others.  These moments in life when we experience a deep longing for a place our eyes have never see, yet our hearts know, are moments of awe. We are awed by the moment and the tiny glimpse of the essence of God.  I am thankful for moments when I am reminded that I am just a traveler here, that this is not my true home, that I was created for another place.

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

