A Connection to the Past

Sunday my family went to help friends pack and prepare to move the remainder of their belongings.   Their new residence does not have the storage space they need to contain all that they own and they must make some difficult decisions on what to keep and what must be stored, given away, sold, or otherwise discarded.  The process is quite overwhelming and I felt helpless to offer any assistance or advice.  Many of their things hold sentimental value and their worth cannot be measured which makes the process of all the more difficult.

When we returned home, I wandered through our house and looked at the abundance of processions that we own – abundance almost immeasurable, and I thought about how I would feel and act if I were in that same situation.  I looked at the many things to which I cling that contain a special memory, were given to me by someone special, or hold some special connection to my past or ancestry.

I hold on to these things because they give me a link to my past. I want to remember the days gone by, and I am fascinated by the world in which my ancestors lived.  I cling to the things that remain from earlier days because they remain and the people they represent are no longer with us. 

We are finite beings created for eternity by an infinite God and I think that within our souls we are ever longing for a time and place beyond the confines of linear time.  But we live in a fallen world in which for us time is linear, death is real, things and people are ever changing, and since we cannot hold on to the past, we cling to the things of the past.

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Connection to the Past

  1. Guerrina says:

    Hi, Sheila,

    What a wonderful explanation of why we hold onto things. Thank you so much! I have come to also realize that it is easy to hold onto so much that it is more a bondage to the past. I found this out when I had to move out of a house and into an apartment and had to make those decisions….then 5 years later had to move to a smaller apartment…decisions again! It was painful and freeing at the same time! I still have boxes of things I need to go through that were packed with the intent of selling once I knew the value of them. I found I did keep the really precious items, like the first piece of furniture my parents bought as a married couple, my great uncle’s rocker (which is SO comfortable) and a couple of other items. I’m no longer sagging under the burden of clinging to the past, but whittled it down to an appreciation of the past! (If that makes sense!) I so appreciate your writing. Thank you, again.

Leave a Reply

