Bubbles

The soothing smell of lavender barely penetrates my stuffy nose as I ease into the steamy water.  I am blessed with a beautiful claw-footed, oversized bathtub, and yet I rarely allow myself the luxury of a bath.  But tonight, a hot bubble bath with lavender scented suds seems to be just what the doctor might order.  A stressful work week and a hard fought battle with the flu have drained me of more energy than I am willing to admit. 

Work has been my constant companion – both waking and sleeping – since I opened my computer on Monday morning.  A strong drive to finish all that is set before me and a stubbornness that refuses to quit or stop before all tasks are done reveals a sinful pride in my heart that upon reflection leaves me guilty and remorseful.  My sinful pride – a pride that snubs my nose, no matter how stuffy, at the idea of stopping or slowing down just because some germ has found its way into my system- can be silly and foolish, but that same drive can also keep me running full steam ahead even when I find myself spiritually rundown and empty.

As my body begins to relax in the moisturizing suds, I find myself absently playing with the bubbles and thinking over the week. For the first time in several days I finally have time – or rather finally take time- to think about the scriptures I have hurriedly read as I rush on to work each morning; they contain a depth of spiritual truth that I know is there but I have been unable to completely comprehend.  Sometimes it seems as though my mind is grasping at air with no substance, just like the bubbles I pop with my fingers. 

“Oh Father, how do I find substance in your truths?”

I look absently at the bubbles floating on the water, they too lack substance and seem to disappear into the air, but when I smooth a handful of sudsy bubbles on my dry winter skin I can feel the moisturizing agents’ sooth my parched skin.  Is that the secret? Perhaps the only way to gain understanding and substance from the word is to apply it to my life. 

Reading simply out of habit and running on to prove I can actually do what I’m afraid I can’t is a bit like popping bubbles in the air – it does me no good. However, if I slow down and take the time to meditate on the truth of God’s word and focus on applying it to my life; if I  admit my own short comings and weaknesses and rely on a strength greater than my own, then I might find that it contains substance that will sooth my parched and dry spirit and feed my hungry soul.

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Moments Worth Remembrance. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bubbles

  1. Lisa~ says:

    I love this Sheila. I’m taking a two day car trip this week and planning to spend some quality time with God. Your words have been the perfect thing I needed to hear….don’t just talk and listen, but rub it in. I think I’m going to spend some time in my bathtub tonight. 🙂 Lisa~

Leave a Reply

