Dry, Thirsty, Land

This morning I awoke once more to the sound of the wind whistling through the open window.  Warmer days have been quite welcome, but the lack of rain has made the warm air seem unusually dry.  I like the sound of the wind and its lonesome cry often sings me to sleep, but windy days and dry dusty air has been hard on my sinuses and the sight of the parched land makes the wind seem somewhat mournful.  Less than an inch of rainfall has fallen since November, and the fact that there is anything green amazes me, but somehow trees have still begun to bud and leaf and green sprigs of grass – although sparse – have emerged to color the landscape.

I once read that Eskimos have many different names for snow; seems to me that we should have the same descriptive references for the wind.  Right now I would welcome a damp eastern breeze that carries with it the promise of rain.

As I drive along familiar roads, I think about how much the landscape has changed in my lifetime.  Water that was once abundant and poured from four inch pipe in a solid, steady, stream is no longer so abundant.  Farmers now practice water conservation and water with sprinklers instead of row water. Fields of corn are no longer as numerous – they still exist – but they are being replaced by more drought tolerant crops.  Cotton has always been a staple here and still is, but native grass now blows in many fields no longer in cultivation and fire has become a real threat.

It feels like the land is drying up just like the spiritual state of our nation, so my morning greeting was not as welcome as it might have been, but as I opened my Bible for my morning reading, I was once again reminded of God’s great goodness and mercy towards his people.  I have been reading through Isaiah and for several chapters it has come to my attention how many times the Lord tells his people He will make springs for them in dry lands.  Over and over He tells them that he will provide for them in dry thirsty places.  He reminds them repeatedly that He alone is their source for the water necessary to sustain life.

These promises encourage me that He will not only provide for the water we need, but He will fill those dry thirst places within us that He alone can drench.

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Lessons from the Garden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dry, Thirsty, Land

  1. Christian West Wilkerson says:

    As I read your morning post, I thought back on the many times over the last two to three weeks when a friend, relative or acquaintance initiated a conversation with me about their attempts to prepare for what they felt was the imminent collapse of the U.S. Each person was far from what you would categorize as an alarmist or survivalist, and every conversation took me completely by surprise. Not one person said a thing about prayer for the country, our misguided President or even mentioned the country was worth saving, and one admitted he had already made plans to go and live in Russia, where, he said things were great. At the same time, I recalled the times lately I have heard my Christian friends say with conviction and certainty they just knew we were right in the middle of the “end times” and felt things were so bad they just knew the Lord was coming back any day. When I replied that the Apostles – guys who knew our risen Savior intimately, said pretty much the same thing almost 2000 years ago as well as Christian folks every generation since, the conversations seem to ground quickly to a halt…. and not a particularly happy one.
    I just wanted to say how much I enjoy reading your blog, and for many reasons …. it’s obvious you are grounded in the “now”, and are occupying until He comes back, not preparing for some big thing coming soon. As I read about your relationship with our Lord, it is a relief to read someone that sees and enjoys the handiwork He has surrounded us with in His creation and can stay grounded in His daily presence, not fretting about tomorrows and at the same time, write with wisdom about problems we all face at one time or another. I read sometime back a writer I appreciate who wrote, “For advice, I can only trust the word of someone who has become intimately acquainted with pain.” While I know we both fit that description, I am glad the Lord has lead you to spend time I know you don’t really have to spare for this blog. Just know I am not the only one who benefits and is blessed by what you have to say.
    Muchas gracias, mi hermana y mi amiga…
    In la nombre de al Hijo, son Nuestro Redentor!
    X/o… Cristiano

    • Thanks for the encouragement. I too have heard a lot of talk about how to prepare for coming disaster and a lot of the people I talk to express their concerns about water, but Is. 43:19 says, “…I will even make a way in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert.” Again in Is. 44:3, “For I will pour water upon him that is thisty, and floods upon the dry ground: I will pour my spirit upon they seed, and my blessing upon thine offspring.” I think these scriptures serve to remind us of the true water for which we should thirst.

  2. Cherrie Taylor says:

    Amen. I too am constantly reminded that every blessing we have only comes from Him. He alone is our provider.

Leave a Reply

