Winds of Change

For several days the wind has whipped and tossed tumble weeds, trash, and anything else that wasn’t nailed down.  I awoke this morning to the mournful sound of a strong west wind, its woeful moan made me want to snuggle deep into flannel sheets and warm blankets and just listen to it whistle across the dark land.

As I listen, I wonder what changes the day may bring since the wind often ushers in a change in the weather – a south or west wind can usher in warmer weather; an east wind may bring rain; a north wind hints that cooler weather is following. Sometimes it may blow from all directions in a single day and then there is no telling what the weather may do.  Spring is not far off and already we have witnessed some of the drastic weather changes for which West Texas is known, and since the wind blows more here on the plains during the transitional season of spring every day may hold something different.

I am often mesmerized by the wind and although I may be discouraged by the damage the wind can create and the drying effect it has on an already parched land, I also love the wind.  There is much to be said about the wind – this invisible force of nature created by God.  It would be difficult to live in West Texas if you couldn’t at least tolerate it, but there are times that I just stand captivated by the power of the wind.

The wind seems to whisper secrets of change and yet there is sameness about the wind that is both captivating and comforting, for although the temperatures may rise and fall and moisture and rain may come and go, the air is always moving – sometimes barely noticeable and at other times with a force that is unimaginable.

God is altogether separate from his creation; He is not bound to it and should never be confused with it, but the attributes of God can be seen in the things He created, and like the air that moves about us He is ever present in our lives.  I am often reminded of his presence when I witness the amazing power of the wind.  Sometimes I think our lives are more accurately reflected in the other aspects of West Texas weather   – continually changing, but I am thankful that when we are in those transitional seasons in our life, the Lord’s presence – although at times it may feel a bit blustery – is often felt more acutely.

Lord, thank you for the winds that whistle about my window, and thank you for the winds of change that whirl us from one season in life to the next.  Help us to enjoy the wind and remember that you alone are master of the wind.

Matthew 8:27… even the winds and the waves obey him

 

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winds of Change

  1. Doug Sims says:

    I identify. I’ve always lived here. In time, you learn to appreciate the wind. It becomes familiar. At times fierce, sad, destructive. At times welcome, refreshing, life-giving. Our Lord likened the Holy Spirit to the wind. It is mysterious, powerful, and not subject to our control. We do not change it…it changes us.

Leave a Reply

