Everyday Trials and Interruptions

Several years ago I read a book titled Stepping Heavenward by Elizabeth Prentiss.  It was one of those books that contained something which spoke directly to my heart on almost every page.  Many of the lessons that Katy (the main character in the story) learned were lessons that the Lord was also teaching me.  A few years after reading the book, I came across a short devotional published by Barbour Publishing entitled Selections From Stepping Heavenward. 

This morning I picked up the devotional and was flipping through the pages looking for a particular passage.  Although I did not immediately find the passage for which I was looking, I came across a paragraph that really touched my heart and reminded me of lessons I thought I had mastered.

I am constantly forgetting to recognize God’s hand in the little, everyday trials of life, and instead of receiving them as from Him, find fault with the instruments by which He sends them.  I can give up my child, my only brother, my darling mother without a word; but to receive every tiresome visitor as sent expressly and directly to weary me by the Master Himself; to meet every negligence on the part of the servants as His choice for me at the moment; to be satisfied and patient when my husband gets particularly absorbed in his books, because my Father sees that little discipline suitable for me at the time; all this I have not fully learned.

Last week was a week of minor everyday trials and interruptions that left me frustrated because I was unable to accomplish all the goals I had set for myself. This passage convicted me of my own shortcomings and sin as I too found “fault with the instruments by which He sends them.” I was reminded that interruptions in my day that are directly or indirectly tied to relationships in my life are usually far more important than my own agenda.

Like Katy, I may have learned to surrender my loved ones to His hand, but I must be reminded that the smaller everyday annoyances of life are often also instruments that the Lord uses to continue to refine and mold me.  Of course there will always be distractions that I must face and I must fight against my own desires to deviate my focus from those things which I feel I am called to do when they become tiresome or difficult.  However, it was nice to be reminded that everyday trials are often sent to illuminate the motives of my heart and help me recognize my own desires and agenda. It is a strange wonder how it fills my heart with joy and relief when I am reminded that it is a daily battle to surrender my life to His hand to be used for His glory and that without His assistance, I will always seek those things that satisfy or glorify self.

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Everyday Trials and Interruptions

  1. thsctim says:

    Sheila,
    I too struggle with “divine appointments” getting in the way of my task list success. Your words reminded me of that hymn “Day by Day and With Each Passing Moment” and the last part of the first verse that says, “He, whose heart is kind beyond all measure, Gives unto each day what He deems best, Lovingly its part of pain and pleasure, Mingling toil with peace and rest.” How I need to be reminded that He brings these “appointments” for my good and His glory!

    Source: http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/713

  2. Yes I too get caught up in a world that is so use to seeing every trial and interruption as bad things. When I recall that G-d is good all the time. He is the master director of everything that happens in our lives. When things are going so so or without too many hiccups it is easy to remember. But when things get really, really tuff it is really hard to see Him and our lives the way we should. I am in the midst of this my myself. It’s really overwhelming if I really stop to think about it. So after making myself physically and mentally sick over “what am I going to do”,I, think I’m on the path of “this is too much for me Hashem, I pray you take it over for me now.”

Leave a Reply

