A Good Work Begun

One of my sons raises goats and he keeps a few dairy goats along with his meat goats.  I enjoy helping him with his dairy goats. Goats – like many other animals – have unique personalities and often have funny quirks and habits that make them fun to watch, but those same habits which I often find endearing, can also be annoying – especially when it comes to milking.

He has one in particular that really tries my patience. She has many good qualities that I like and I even convinced my son to keep her when someone recently offered to buy her, but she can be temperamental.  She reminds me almost daily of how short-tempered and impatient I can still be even though these are short-comings in my character that I have often sought the Lord’s help in over-coming – especially when I was younger.

However, although her temperament may bring out the worst in mine, I found myself smiling yesterday while she preformed her antics on the milking stand and I looked at my son and jokingly asked him, “remind me – what is it that patience is supposed to perfect?” The thought that even a silly goat can be used of the Lord to mold my character lightened the moment and we both laughed.  The improvements may be tiny and I am certain they are not of my own doing, but it is nice to occasionally laugh instead of continually fighting back outbursts of anger and impatience.

It reminded me of Philippians 1:6, “Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun  a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:” I have often heard this scripture used to encourage those who were struggling with specific things they felt called to do, and I am also guilty of using it in that context, but I wonder if what Paul is really referring to here is the sanctifying work of the Holy Spirit.

I cannot make myself holy, only Christ can do that, but I can submit myself to those daily little trials that over long years of time do bare some slight evidence of sanctification in my heart.  When I stumble and lose my temper or some other fault rises to the surface of my heart – which happens daily – I can be discouraged at how little I’ve traveled in these long years of journeying or I can pick myself up, pray for assistance, remember and be encouraged that the good work which He began, He will continue.

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Good Work Begun

  1. Betty Jayne Castle says:

    Hi Sheila, I always love your comments. I think of you often and you are a dear friend. God Bless You Richly! Love you lots! Betty Jayne

Leave a Reply

