Make My Life a Prayer

A few weeks ago, I took a challenge to read Matthew 5, 6, and 7 every day for 40 days in addition to my regular Bible reading. At first I thought this would be very time consuming and difficult, but it really only takes about 15 to 20 minutes to read and when I consider what 15 minutes is in proportion to my 24 hour day, I am ashamed that I ever doubted if I had that much extra time to give to scripture reading.

This passage of scripture is commonly referred to as the Sermon on the Mount, but my brother refers to this passage as The Kingdom Discourse. I like that reference – a dialogue about Kingdom living. Though I have read it many times now, every day it speaks to me anew and every day I feel challenged anew to surrender every part of my life to the one who gave all for me.

Today I find that prayer of my heart taking shape as a poem.

Make my life a prayer that others may see
Gladness in sunshine and sorrow
as I accept your plan for me

Make my life a prayer that others may hear
Of your excellent goodness and mercy
and know that you are near

Make my life a prayer lived aloud each day
That others following behind
may clearly see the way

Make my life a prayer of praise poured out to you
That others may know a love that is real
and a heart that is true

Make my life a prayer that ceases never
A life with heart and thought fully fixed on you
both now and forever

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Faith, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Make My Life a Prayer

  1. Denise Hyde says:

    Beautiful!

  2. Victoria says:

    Beautiful poem! Beautiful message! Thank you for sharing your gifts and your love for The Lord.

  3. Marella says:

    I agree with Denise and Victoria!

Leave a Reply

