The Gift of Life

IMG_2520I read her Facebook post just before I left for work.

“As I held my precious grandbaby today, I couldn’t help but smile – not just because she was smiling up to me or because we got to babysit her today; but because 20 years ago I gave some doctors a piece of my mind (literally) and survived to talk about it!

 I have such a GREAT God!! He graciously allowed me to see my children (who were 4 and 2 at the time) grow up and make me proud – and now I hold my grandbaby!! He healed me from a brain tumor AND from a tumor of sin and absolute selfishness.  He is the reason I live – the reason I was born – and the reason I can testify to His faithfulness. He is my salvation, my joy, and my hope.”

I tapped the ‘like’ button, but a simple ‘like’ just didn’t seem to do it justice and her words lingered with me all morning. I have known Melanie for almost 19 years. I met her just a little more than a year after her brain tumor was removed while she still bore the  evidence of her traumatic ordeal, and yet, she was (and is) always so joyful and so much fun to be around. She was never in a group of women long before melodious peals of laughter ring out and I was so richly blessed by her friendship in the years the Lord allowed us to travel the same paths. Melanie loves life and it is obvious that she takes nothing for granted. She is grateful for every new day, and her joy and gratitude is not only inspirational but contagious.

Perhaps those who have taunted death, those who have survived life’s harshest battles, those who have been given the gift of life – the gift of a new day – perhaps they are the ones who are most grateful for each moment we have to spend here on this earth. But the truth is – we have all been given the gift of life! Every new day is a gift! And those of us who know and serve a risen Savior – we have a double gift – a hope and a promise of an eternal life spent with the one who bestowed upon us this precious gift.

So why do we – why do I- forget how precious life is? Why do I not view each new day as a cherished gift in which to rejoice? Why do I let the duties of life become mundane and forget I was born for a reason and I live for a reason – to testify to His faithfulness! Every mundane moment is a reason to rejoice because we who deserve death have been granted life!

Melanie’s post was a timely reminder and I pray I do not take this costly gift I’ve been given for granted; that I do not so easily forget in the midst of daily life that I was born and live to testify to His faithfulness, and that I do not just grow old but rather grow grateful. Today, tomorrow, and each new day that I am blessed to open, I pray I remember to live it gratefully.

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Praise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

