While We Were Sleeping

k2543035flag“America, what will we miss while we are sleeping?” the words to the song While We Were Sleeping by Casting Crowns flow through my head and tears fill my eyes as I listen to the news. In Boston people are hurting, both emotionally and physically and America prays as the media keeps us up-to-date on the details of the bombing. We grieve for the dead and hurt for the wounded and we are thankful for news coverage that keeps us informed. We rejoice to hear about the everyday heroes who ran to rescue the wounded and hurting. And we continue to pray.

But what about the hurt that isn’t covered – the hurt that isn’t broadcast or told?  In Philadelphia an abortion doctor is on trial for murder – accused of internally beheading babies who survived an abortion by snipping their spinal column at the back of the neck – and until recently the media is silent because “it upsets a particular narrative about the reality of certain types of abortion, and that reality isn’t something some pro-choice absolutists what to discuss.”

When did the media no longer report the news? When did we quit listening to news that might convict our hearts and send the message to those who report that we as a nation did not want to hear what might condemn or offend? When did we become so caught up in our own little world and the world of our friends and celebrities and cute and entertaining stories that we no longer wanted to hear hard truth? When did we come to believe that truth is relative, that man is good and just, and that as a nation we can govern ourselves without God?….When did I do these things without thought or notice?

“Every son deceived by philosophies that save the trees and kill the children.” The words to the powerful song continue to ring in my head and echo in my heart as I read about a trial that is now in its fifth week and I wonder how much I really want to know. I think about the citizens of Nazi Germany who turned a blind eye to the horror in their own back yard. I think about the words of Isaiah and Ezekiel condemning those who had sacrificed their children to false gods and the words of the law in Leviticus 20:4 and I shudder. Have we inherited a generational curse of slumber? Do we even know how badly we need a Savior?

I wonder what will I do with what I know; I wonder what can I do?  I honestly don’t know. I’m not even sure how to pray. I pray for the victims and their families in Boston; I pray for those who hurt and mourn.  But who are those who mourn for the victims in Philadelphia?  Who mourns for the women who felt they had no other options? Who mourns for the hopeless? Who mourns for a nation that kills its offspring – its future – for convenience?

Oh Lord, have mercy on us. Heal our hearts that are not breaking. Heal our minds that our so self-centered we do not want to know. Heal our tongues that pour forth idle words and are silent when we need to speak. Heal our hands that are not helping. Have mercy and give us eyes to see and ears to hear and hearts that know how much we need a Savior!

 

About sheilacampbell

Like all people, my life is multi faceted. I have been a mom for twenty-eight years, raising three wonderful children to young adults. I have been also been a wife, a sister, a daughter, and a friend. I love my Lord; I love the life He has given me and I write about the things I love.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to While We Were Sleeping

  1. boondockma says:

    Very well said! It’s frightening to consider how much our world has changed, how far downhill we have allowed ourselves, our nation and even The Church to slide since I was a child, and even in the last few years. However, it’s kinda exciting as well to think of the prophecies we’re seeing fulfilled right before our eyes! The Lord put this subject on my heart as well, including the parallels between what we call abortion and the child sacrifices of the past, and I shared what He gave me at a local Bible Study Tuesday eve, I shared a revised version of it on my latest blog which I have dedicated solely to what He lays on my heart. I’d be honored if you would take a look and let me know what you think. http://awaitingtrumpetcall.blogspot.com/ Thank you for this very thoughtful, and timely post!

  2. caschroader says:

    I am convicted, thank you. I get overwhelmed with the basics, keeping up the home, taking care of and schooling the children, doing my part at church, and spending time for myself. Somehow, I need to take a few more moments out of each of those things and keep my eyes and ears open to what God would have me do in this battle.

    A Planned Parenthood just opened in our town. Our church, along with others in the community, are praying and asking what God would have us do. There are some people street preaching from a couple of church communities and permissions have been granted to allow a Crisis Pregnancy Center to go in near the Planned Parenthood, which is a place to share alternatives to abortion and help those who ended up doing it anyway. Small steps, lots of energy and time.

Leave a Reply

